Advocacy on House ARPA Budget Proposal

On October 25, the House Ways and Means Committee released its plan to disburse $3.65 billion of the more than $5 billion in federal funds allocated to Massachusetts via the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA). The bill sets aside $125 million for restoration and support of the arts and cultural sector, 3% of the total spending plan.

This amount is disappointing, especially given the significant losses artists, cultural organizations and arts business have sustained since March 2020. The pandemic-related closure of museums and stages and the cancellation of musical performances, plays, and other live performances, 981 arts and cultural nonprofit organizations—which represent a sliver of the state’s creative economy—have reported $588.3 million in pandemic-related losses. Nearly 3,000 creative workers in Massachusetts lost over $30 million during that same time. 


Before the pandemic, the arts and cultural sector contributed over $25.5 billion to the Commonwealth’s economy and supported 142,578 jobs resulting in $13.6 billion in total compensation.

Rep. Fernandes, Vice Chair of the Tourism, Arts and Cultural Development Committee filed amendment #109, which would increase the allocation to $175 million. We have just 48 hours to urge members of the House to co-sponsor the amendment before Thursday’s House debate. 

Make sure voice heard and encourage your state representative to support the increase today.

Co-Sponsors of Amendment #109 of H.3922 An Act relative to immediate COVID-19 recovery needs.
Sponsored by Representative Dylan Fernandes (D-Falmouth)

As of Wednesday October 28, 2021 at 4:00 pm
83 Co-Sponsors

Rep. Steven C. Owens (D-Watertown) Rep. David Linsky (D-Natick)
Rep. Tricia Farley-Bouvier (D-Pittsfield) Rep. Patricia Duffy (D-Holyoke)
Rep. Paul Mark (D-Hancock) Rep. Mindy Domb (D-Amherst)
Rep. David Vieira (R-Barnstable) Rep. Matthew Muratore (R-Plymouth)
Rep. John Barrett (D-North Adams) Rep. Trăm Nguyễn (D-Andover)
Rep. Tommy Vitolo (D-Brookline) Rep. Michael Kushmerek (D-Fitchburg)
Rep. Liz Miranda (D-Dorchester) Rep. Patrick Kearney (D-Scituate)
Rep. Joan Meschino (D-Hull) Rep. Natalie Higgins (D-Leominster)
Rep. Vanna Howard (D-Lowell) Rep. Lindsay Sabadosa (D-Northampton)
Rep. John Mahoney (D-Worcester) Rep. Adam Scanlon (D-North Attleborough)
Rep. Alice Peisch (D-Wellesley) Rep. Steven Howitt (R-Seekonk)
Rep. Daniel Cahill (D-Lynn) Rep. Natalie Blais (D-Sunderland)
Rep. Kip Diggs (D-Barnstable) Rep. Steven Ultrino (D-Malden)
Rep. James O'Day (D-West Boylston) Rep. Sean Garballey (D-Arlington)
Rep. Jack Lewis (D-Framingham) Rep. Paul Schmid (D-Westport)
Rep. Maria Robinson (D-Framingham) Rep. Erika Uyterhoeven (D-Somerville)
Rep. Danillo Sena (D-Acton) Rep. Jacob Oliveira (D-Ludlow)
Rep. Tackey Chan (D-Quincy) Rep. Rob Consalvo (D-Kyde Park)
Rep. Kay Kahn (D-Newton) Rep. Christine Barber (D-Somerville)
Rep. Ruth Balser (D-Newton) Rep. F. Jay Barrows (R-Mansfield)
Rep. Elizabeth Malia (D-Jamaica Plain) Rep. William Driscoll (D-Milton)
Rep. Kate Lipper-Garabedian (D-Melrose) Rep. Dan Carey (D-Easthampton)
Rep. Tami Gouveia (D-Acton) Rep. Adrian Madaro (D-Boston)
Rep. Nika Elugardo (D-Jamaica Plain) Rep. William C. Galvin (D-Canton)
Rep. Jon Santiago (D-Boston) Rep. Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)
Rep. Andy Vargas (D-Haverhill) Rep. Thomas Stanley (D-Waltham)
Rep. Antonio Cabral (D-New Bedford) Rep. Michelle Ciccolo (D-Lexington)
Rep. Carol Doherty (D-Taunton) Rep. Daniel Donahue (D-Worcester)
Rep. Brandy Fluker Oakley (D-Boston) Rep. Carolyn C. Dykema (D-Holliston)
Rep. David LeBoeuf (D-Worcester) Rep. Kevin Honan (D-Brighton)
Rep. Carmine Gentile (D-Sudbury) Rep. Marcos Devers (D-Lawrence)
Rep. Sally Kerans (D-Danvers) Rep. Mike Connolly (D-Cambridge)
Rep. Denise C. Garlick (D-Needham) Rep. Bruce J. Ayers (D-Quincy)
Rep. Paul McMurtry (D-Dedham) Rep. Russell E. Holmes (D-Boston)
Rep. Josh S. Cutler (D-Duxbury) Rep. Bud L. Williams (D-Springfield)
Rep. James M. Kelcourse (R-Amesbury) Rep. Angelo J. Puppolo, Jr. (D-Springfield)
Rep.Brian M. Ashe (D-Longmeadow) Rep. Chynah Tyler (D-Roxbury)
Rep. Marjorie C. Decker (D-Cambridge) Rep. David M. Rogers (D-Belmont)
Rep. Jeffrey Rosario Turco (D-Winthrop) Rep. Jessica Ann Giannino (D-Revere)
Rep. David K. Muradian, Jr. (R-Grafton) Rep. Kenneth I. Gordon (D-Bedford)
Rep. Paul F. Tucker (D-Salem) Rep. Steven G. Xiarhos (R-Barnstable)


Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction

published this page in Reach out to your State Legislators 2021-10-26 14:15:15 -0400

Community Impact

The Drama Studio is one of a handful of youth theatres in the United States that offers quality, range, and depth in its acting training programs. For Springfield-area youth, the Studio's conservatory program offers an unusual opportunity for training that prepares its graduates (all of whom are college bound) to...